Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
SAAB 9-5 2.0 TTID XWD Aero (2011)
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, thanks for allowing me to join.

Quick, intro, I have too many cars as is but could not resist buying my first SAAB. Ever since I got a ride in a SAAB 9000 back when I was a jong lad (still feel young but also somehow 41 year olds) I wanted one. I'm an automotive designer (and other transport-related work), and I've also always liked the design of the last 9-5, plus it is something that sparks a conversation with fellow petrol heads.

I'm Dutch but living in the UK. I picked it up from Northern Ireland two weeks ago and drove it back to the middle of England where I live, crossing 4 countries (Northern Ireland, Ireland, Scotland and England) Not too shabby for a test drive. It's a good thing I liked it because I had already booked the ferry and did not have a flight back :)

it's a 2011 TTID with XWD and with the Aero package in Jet metallic black.

Despite me asking specifically before I made the journey to go get it the LED light bar is not working. In fact, it's cracked and covered up with vinyl, so no LED kit is going to save me. To be fair whoever applied the vinyl, he did do a good job. So now I am looking for a LED bar to replace it, as it's such a key design element that I want it to work. As you all know they are rare and expensive but we will get there eventually.

First doing full service, XWD has recently been serviced and got a new pump so I will leave that till next year, but the rest is getting changed, and then in two weeks I will take it to the Netherlands for a short break/work trip.

The vinyled LED bar. I pealed a bit off to check underneath exposing a crack, but you can see it is not bad looking as far as a cracked LED bar goes.