Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having just changed my tyres from 16" to 17", I am still learning how to control the wayward actions of those 225/45/17 on anything other than perfect roads. My first observation is how much the tyres prefer to follow any uneven tarmac problems or groves in the road. Quite a handfull to keep the car straight.
The streets of London have been dug up so many times, few are excempt from severe uneven ride. The back streets are just out of bounds for me now...

Anyone got any tips for me on how to safely handle these situation?

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
Classic trade-off situation going on here. The relative lack of sidewall flex here makes the car react much more directly and precisely to the steering wheel, but the flipside is it will be less tolerant to ruts, off-cambered roads, tramlining, et cetera.
In most cases, this will be amplified by the oversized wheel/tyre combination being rather heavier than the original - the tiny bit of weight that is saved in the sidewall dimensions of the tyre (mostly offset by going to a wider size and/or sturdier construction that comes with a higher speed index, anyways) isn't by far enough to compensate for the added weight of a larger rim (as an aside, with the current trend to 20" or even bigger rims, tyre fitters aren't allowed to lift them themselves by work inspection anymore, so the new generation of tyrefitting/balancing machines often comewith a hydraulic lift...). You don't want to have an unsprung weight too high in relation to the weight of the total vehicle or it'll be a case of the tail wagging the dog...