Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Pirelli P6000 are good.
Uniroyal (540? - just been replaced) are always good in the wet, but don't seem to last that long, still they are a bit cheaper.
The latest Avons (whatever they are called) seem to make the steering light and don't inspire confidence.
Shop around as prices can vary a lot

·
Registered
63 Posts
FWIW here are my thought on new shoes for a performance car. Admitedly I have no knowledge of the tyre sizes fitted to the 2.3 litre either so what I'm about to offer could be irrelevant.

With the wet weather just around the corner I would heartily recommend Bridgestone S03 Pole Positions. These tyres are excellent tyres & the grip in the wet is quite a revelation.

Not sure where you are Gav but to give you an idea of prices I can get a pair of these in 225/50/15 with the Z rating for the MR2 for less than £90 each inclusive of valves & balancing.

They are a very soft tyre & so depending on your driving style will probable only give around 6,000 miles life if you drive hard. However. Bare in mind that it is your tyres that connect you to the road. I think you'll agree that they are quite important parts then of any vehicle.

Try them... You'll never buy pirelli again. I swear.

Mal.

·
Registered
600 Posts
Gav,
I'm sure Mal offers good advice, but i would be worried about buying very soft tyres for a 9000 as they are relatively big and heavy and i would imagine if you go quickly you will be making lots of trips to see the tyre man.
The reason i would go for the P6000 is that it seems a good compromise between grip,life and cost.
I have also heard from my Subaru driving friends that Falken are worth a look if you want grip and low cost, but they don't last very long.

·
Registered
1,664 Posts