Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a new car. There are a few things I have to consider when purchasing. 1) I'm 6'7" tall so I need a fair bit of leg room. 2) I have 2 kids so space in the rear/boot is important. 3) I cover around 15,000 miles per year. I've tried a lot of cars and the 9000 seems to meet all my requirements.

Basically, I've seen a nice looking 9000t 2.3 and am wondering if there's anything specific that might be wrong. I'm not a mechanic and would appreciate any advice on what and where to check. By the way, it's on the forecourt for £5290, P reg with around 72,000 on the clock. Does this sound expensive?

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

PS. I'm 27 with 7 years no claims. Is the 9000t expensive to insure? (Personally, I would have thought so!)

·
Registered
2,928 Posts
I hope most of your height is in your legs, otherwise you will find that the 9000 head restraint does not go high enough. I'm a measly 1.73m, and it only just goes high enough for me. I do not understand why the Saab seat, which is excellent in every other way, has this limitation.

Which model is it, and which 2.3 turbo, full or light pressure? Seems a tad expensive to a tight fisted person such as myself.

·
Registered
5,925 Posts
At that price I would expect the car to be near perfect. It is expensive, though that probably reflects the mileage and dealer prices. For that money it must have a Full Saab Service History. In fact it should just have been serviced (every 12,000 miles I believe). Having just looked (literally on autotrader) there are dealer cars that are more expensive, but on the other hand you could probably get a very nice private 225BHP Aero for about a grand less.