Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've just got an MBC (ball and spring) to go on my CSE 2.3T. Trouble is, I've never used an MBC before so I'm a bit clueless.

Is there a good idiot-proof procedure?

My guess is that I need to set it up so that I can't hit the fuel cut-out no matter what I do.

Is there a direct correlation with the non-Aero turbos between the amount of boost and the RPM? It seems to me that no matter how I adjust the MBC, the peak boost above about 3000RPM is pretty much the same - I am wondering if this is a limitation of the turbo. In other words, do I need to concentrate on adjusting the boost at low revs?

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
You'll want to set the boost in 4th or 5th gear. Set it so that the initial boost spike will not bring on a fuel cut. This will give you the ability to put the gas pedal to the floor in any gear at any rpm without fuel cuts.

A fuel cut, if you have never experienced it before, might startle you. Start the MBC at a low setting and then go out on the highway and give it full throttle, from low rpms, in 4th ot 5th gear. If there are no fuel cuts, you can raise the boost more. Keep going until you start getting fuel cuts, then back off just a bit. This will be the max boost you can run without getting the fuel cut.

Also, take note that you might have to readjust, time-to-time, as the weather changes. I remember having to adjust down a bit towards the winter and bringing it back up again as the temps rose again.

·
Registered
24 Posts
hi people sorry to drag up an old topic but is the fuel cut off system fail safe? is it still possible for the engine to run lean before fuel cut off? I have just bought an mbc but i am very reluctent to adjust without checking air fuel mixture and boost with correct gauges maybe i will be better off getting it done pro? as i dont have the correct tools to test

·
Registered
14,305 Posts