Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Where to start:
It idles erratically, with very sooty plugs, burns smokey when it's sputtering, but runs clean at speed.
Fuel consumption is monsterous 15-18 MPG (imp) which is costing me a fortune! The best I've had it is 18.6 on a motorway run of 80 miles. I changed the air filter but it didn't do much, in fact after that is when the smokeyness started.
Air con is very noisey, and doesn't really blow cool. It really does make a horrible noise so I have to turn the radio up very load!
There is damage to the flexible exhaust hose where it joins to the down-pipe; I've repaired it using exhaust putty and the old tin can-jubilee clip bodge, until I can afford to get a new hose welded in but the repair is okay and seems to be holding up.
The car has 105k mileage, and I am new to SAABs; must say I love it but if I can't sort out the consumption I'm going to have to let it go; any tips?

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
Welcome to Saabscene.

The first thing I would do is clean the DI unit (your will be red or black). Spray some WD40 in it as this may clean up the connectors. Failing that try and get another DI unit from somewhere/someone and try it on your car.

You will I am sure, get far more informed details from others but I would try this first.

Mileage on a 2.3lpt is 26-30 around town or 40-45 at a steady 50mph

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for your replies;
I've put new plugs in NGK BCPR7ES-11's, and I've cleaned the IAC valve. It seems a bit better.
The red DI unit; what is inside it? It seems okay but I'll spray in some WD40.
Cross fingers it seems a bit better now; consumption still a bit high though.

·
Registered
8,216 Posts
Originally posted by StephenA:
[qb]How old is it? If its before 93 then cleaning the Air Mass Meter will probably help.[/qb][/b]