Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I know the ads are custom but isn't there some sort of filter?
As I keep getting popups about scan for viruses & apk files trying to download when using the site lately which is starting to get annoying

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
im glad you mention this, a couple of times, i seem to get forwarded to some dodgy sites also when using an android tablet its a good job im not easily offended lol - windows pc seems to be fine so i wonder if theres something thats targetting android browsers on the site?

·
Premium Member
1,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Clicked cancel on first virus popup & it forwarded to another site but clicked back before to page could load so now I just click back when popup appears
Thought after posting this thread that I should of taken screen shots of popup & apk file, will do in future

·
Registered
284 Posts
I am an admin on another site that Autoguide own. We have this same frustration there that Autoguide are not in control of the adverts they run and members have to put up with this crap there as well. No amount of telling them to switch them off will do any good.

They will ask for what the advert was and block that one specific one if you can tell them which it was. Then the next one will pop up and the same process will be dragged out again.

They will tell you that its Google's fault and that they break Google policy, but all they can do is report isolated incidents.

All I can suggest is ad blockers to stop them getting through to you in the first place.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Google have removed all ad blockers from the Play store as it is against their business model to block ad's. You can side load them and depending on whether your phone is rooted, depends on the level of ad blocking they can give.