Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was trying to decide on the next car to build up. Given that I have a lot of experience with the 9000, this is an easy route and I could try of couple of new things. I mean that its not like these cars are not incredibly fast, as I am reminded each time I drive the one I built up. However, the new stuff is intriguing. The problem with doing a 9-3 SS as I see it is that there is not as much aftermarket supply for these cars yet, but given the closer relation with GM, there might be more eventually and lower priced. It is tough enough trying to get parts out of Europe for the old cars, let alone any new stuff. The obvious overall factor is price. The Aero could be had and built for less than $25K USD, but the new car would cost more.

Thoughts and opinions are welcome.

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
If you can afford it, I'd say go 9-3 SS. It has arguably the best handling potential of any Saab to date, and you can bet most of the aftermarket/racing development is concentrating on that car right now, and will for some time to come.

·
Registered
3,892 Posts
Kevin,
I have to say my thoughts would be going the 9-5 route rather than the new 9-3SS route. At least the technology is next generation from the 9000, and still 'old' Saab. I think the 9-3SS is still far too new yet and I'm personally suspicous of the GM/Opel/Vauxhall based engines having the strength/longevity of the B series Saab units as used in the existing range, although there are plenty of companies offering tuning parts for these engines in their non-Saab guise. It's just a question of being able to marry these components with modified T.7+ electronics......
From a chassis point of view the new 9-3SS has got to be the choice without question.

·
Registered
1,676 Posts