Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
608 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up a lovely set of TSW 17" wheels for my 9000, complete with Falken 214/45/17ZR all for under £500.00 brand new !

Anyone give me an idea of what pressure the tyres should be set at ?

I was thinking of around 28/30PSI, any advice would be much appreciated

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by StanleyB:
Posted by MarkA:

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2.2bar on my 9-3

That'll be 32PSI then. But the question was in relation to a 9000, not a 9-3  .

Same tyre size.. same weight... big deal?  [/b]
Different handling. It could be just me
, but the 9-3 is less forgiving in the handling and cornering department when fed with improper tyre pressures on daily road driving. I have no track experience, so I couldn't say if that's the same on the track.
But if I am wrong, I stand corrected .

·
Registered
14,305 Posts
There's no "right answer" to this question. I would experiment with pressures between 28 and 35 psi (unladen).

The best pressure will be a compromise between handling and ride comfort, and will vary from tyre to tyre as well. Try some different pressures and see how you get on.

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
Give them 30 and see how the week goes, then drop or raise by 2 psi and see what diff. there is.

I have a 9k with BFG 205/55-16 when set to 33 and above the car is on ice at 28 or below, parking is hell, 30 is just right with no ware as yet after 3000 miles or so.
they say set psi to tire size but some makes need a bit of help.

·
Registered
2,277 Posts
I'll go with heyes on this, 28 front and 26 rear works a treat on my Aero with same sizes as yourself. Rides nicely over smaller imperfections and did last years Saabscene trackday with no bother as well.

Nick.

·