Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Its my first attempt at one from scratch.

using old case and second hand motherboard/ processor/ram. its a new power supply and ancillaries.

all connected up and I plug in mains to power supply... nothing, zilch, not even a glimmer of a fan wirring anywhere. not even a teeny weeny little light on anything.

so is it going to be a brand new power supply then thats dead ? it's not the cable as I tried that on another device. not even the processor fan starts.

so my question is where do I start testing and if I remove the power supply and connect it to the mains how do I tell if its dead on arrival ? if I connect it to the mains without anything connected to it can I damage it doing that ?

any help appreciated.

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
this is always the most difficult to diagnose could be any of the following

a) you havent connected the two pin switch to the correct pins on the motherboard?
b) Switch on the case (not telling the motherboard to tell the PSU to turn on)
c) dead motherboard
d) cabling from the power supply to the motherboard (both the long connector and a 4 pin yellow and black one)
e) the CPU fan is not connected (the motherboard is autosensing and wont power up if the fan isnt there to stop overheating and burning your house down)
f) i have seen on old computers that even a faulty CD drive / hard drive or graphics card would produce this

so best things i can suggest is when its plugged in there is usually a little green / red LED on the motherboard to say its powered is there one and is it lit up?

take out RAM, and Graphics Card if its not built into the motherboard, unplug Hard drive and CD drive etc so you are literally just left with Power Supply, Case, Motherboard (with processor and Fan)