Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After my most recent self repair job of changing the rear pads I took the top off the brake fluid reservoir and noticed the fluid looked a bit cloudy. So its got me wondering just how long it's been in there. I have no issue with the effectiveness of the brakes but I'm thinking that maybe a flush through with some fresh stuff wouldn't go a miss. Unless you guys inform me otherwise.

I'm ok with undertaking the job as i worked as a mechanic when I first left school many moons ago. The only thing that concerns me is that I carry round the information that I learnt about 20+ years ago which is probably somewhat out of date now. ie - I was always led to believe that when bleeding brakes you run the risk of the brake master cylinder rubbers collapsing because of depressing the brake pedal to its full limit which of course is alot further than its normal range of travel. This may or may not be true but it's what I was taught while training as an apprentice so I don't know any different.

So I put this question out to you guys who maybe have experience of this. Is it worth doing, what are the risks to look out for and is there a set seqsequence to follow-

eg- start with the wheel furthest away from the brake master cylinder then the 2nd etc etc?

As always, any advice greatly appreciated

·
Administrator
5,086 Posts
^^^...This,also brake fluid is hydroscopic(absorbs moisture)the more moisture in the fluid the lower the boiling point becomes..Fluid gets hot,moisture starts to evaporate creates an air bubble within the fliud..

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've had a look on you tube about the vacuum tool. Is this the only fool proof way of bleeding the brakes? What would happen if they were bled without a vacuum tool and the ABS disabled?

·
Registered
1,119 Posts