Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11,343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have three trackdays booked already for this year and have been invited to take my Saab along to trackdays organised by a non-Saab club.

At the Saab trackday event at Anglesey, helmets are INCLUDED in the cost of the day.

Given that I am also planning on taking my bike test, I am thinking that I ought to get my own skid lid.

Does anyone have any advice on what I need to look for when buying a helmet?

TIA

·
Registered
14,305 Posts
Um, I'm not an expert but I'd have thought that perhaps the requirements are not the same.

I won't comment on bike ones expect for a brilliant comment I saw on one the other day:

"If you're not a paramedic please don't take my helmet off"
or words to that effect

Bikes seems to favour full face designs, whereas for comfort inside a car, I'd have thought open face would be better.

My advice- get a good quality bike helmet and a cheaper (they can be had from around £55) open face one for track days.

·
Registered
11,343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have heard that from 2003 onwards for all Octagon circuits, all car drivers and passengers will need to have BSI 6658 Type A helmets. Type B helmets will no longer be permitted.

Helmet info here: http://www.motorcycle-training.f2s.com/safety.html#Helmet

All road legal motorcycle helmets sold in the UK must conform to British Standard 6658 and will be either categorised  as Type A (blue label) or Type B (green label).  These stickers are normally located on the back of the helmet and will also include a batch identity number.  If it doesn't have a sticker, don't buy it, it may be an import and will not be legal on British roads.  A recent article suggested that most Traffic Police were not interested in the safety stamp, providing the helmet was a recognisable brand and model.  However, this may change in the future.