Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi SaabScene Members,

My name is Neeleem and I am very new to Saab Scene. This is my very first post on Saabscene.

It started like this. I live in Pembrokeshire in Wales and over Christmas last year, I had a friend visiting me from Swindon who
owned a 1995 Saab 9000 CSE 2.3T. At that time I was learning to drive and was reading up on various cars out of which I might choose a car when I finally got round to buying a car. I liked my friend's car so much that I got crazy about buying a Saab 9000. Now I faced a lot of discouragement from various quarters including friends, colleagues and my driving instructor who all said it was too big/powerful a car to drive for a first time driver etc etc. and ofcourse dear to insure and run. I did a lot of reading on the internet about the Saab 9000 and several other cars and finally made up my mind that this was the car I wanted to drive. I have not tried a lot of cars in my life but from the looks, feel and user reviews I knew it was one hell of a car. So finally I started looking at the used car market and studied prices, specs and models etc. Finally about 4 months back I decided on a 97 Anniversary 2.0t Ecopower model and went ahead and bought it. It had about 110k on it. And today I feel this was one of the best decisions I ever made about my car. The insurance company made a hole in my pocket but the hole would have been slightly smaller if I had bought a 1.4 Ford fiesta and for what my car gives me I think I am more than willing to accept that 'extra hole'!The hole was made more because I am a first time driver rather than the fact that it is a Saab 2.0.