Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
548 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Abbott Racing is currently selling a heavily modded old stle 9k which among many other things has a gearbox oil radiator w/ an electric pump fitted.

Has anyone ever experimented with this modification to a 9k, and would keeping gearbox temps down lead to a longer life for the 3rd gear c-clip and the box in general?

·
Registered
2,928 Posts
I have no experience of this in a 9000, but gearbox cooling is quite common in competition cars and becoming more common in road cars (particularly mid and rear engined ones) as everything underneath gets covered in to improve aerodynamics, downforce et al.

Remember that gearboxes get hot mainly because of power loss in the gear box, and that even normal cars' gearboxes get surprisingly warm on a high speed run. Presumably, Abbott have plumbed in a small oil cooler, a thermoswitch and the pump. Hardly high tech, and as long as it's been done properly, and does not effect the oil level when it switches on and off, should be OK. Even a small cooler should have a dramatic effect at keeping the box cool, and therefore prevent the oil from degrading with temperature. I suspect that modern synthetic gear oils will withstand higher temps than conventional oils, but I don't know much about 9000 'boxes as mine's an auto.

·
Registered
2,277 Posts
Remember that the oil in the 9000 'box is an engine oil and as such a multigrade in itself, so it'll get thicker as it gets hotter. How hot is anyones guess, but dipping a cookery thermometer into the dipstick hole after a strenuous run ought to give us an indication. Anyone out there got one and like to give it a go?
Nick.

·
Registered
8,948 Posts
The oil in mine gets warm but not hot enough to be uncomfortable, so lower than about 45c ish.

The auto's are cooled as standard anyways, could always mod an auto cooler C900 or 9000 for a manual....

Andrew.

·