Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My front tyres seem to be on their way out. Its the first time I am going to replace tyres since I bought the car in March this year. Currently I have 195-65/R15 V on all the wheels.

Following are some of the questions in my mind:

1> Will I gain anything by fixing wider tyres (205/215) on my front wheels only? I don't want to change my back tyres as they are still very good. (though, I will want to upgrade the back tyres when in the future I need to change them)

2> If the answer to the above question is YES, is it just a normal tyre change at a tyre shop or do I need to make any changes to the bodywork of the car (97 CSE Anniv 2.0 LPT).

3> Do I need to inform my insurance company about this as a modification and will my premium go up because of this.

4> Being a novice I would like to know another thing: do bigger alloys (16"/17") improve handling as compared to a 15" alloys. The reason I ask this is that my Anniv alloys look absolutely lovely and I would not like to replace them with something else if it is just for the sake of looks.

5> Recommendations on tyres... From what I hear Michelin Pilot Premacy is very good. Any better value for money proposition?

All this is in the light of the fact that I am thinking of gradually upgrading the car as and when I can afford to.... probably a speedparts/ Maptun ECU upgrade later next year.

Thanks in advance for any advice that anyone can give me.

Cheers,
Neel.

·
Registered
1,411 Posts
Originally posted by neel:
[qb]3> Do I need to inform my insurance company about this as a modification and will my premium go up because of this.
[/qb][/b]
Yes, and depends. It's a modification, and one that would be spottable in the event of a claim. It's not worth taking the risk of not informing them, IMO