Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On my way home from work today, my Carly decided to play dipsy-doodle with the revs on idle, taking them from about 2k down to almost zero but then picking up before it had chance to die...

Seemed OK from cold and driving was OK... the odd hesitation but at full bore it was almost normal...

As it happened i was going to change the plugs today anyhow... which i have now done but the symptoms remain.. The old plugs were very sooted so i guess its a fuel/air mixture problem of some sort... But what??

Any ideas guys and gals?

·
Registered
76 Posts
Hi Ed

I had a similar problem with my old 87CDi some yars ago. It turned out to be a fuel pressure problem in the end. I am no expert, people on this board know far more than me, but this info might help you!!!

Regards

green9000

·
Registered
1,908 Posts
Ed,

Could be various problems, but supplimentary to green9000 suggestion, could also be..:

- Fouled injectors (e.g. also indicated by plugs sooted): A bottle of injector cleaner will solve this - and restor a smoother idle.

- AC system, or power assisting (due to wheel being turned whilst car stationary) cutting in. Both of these latter problems should be compensated by the Idle Control valve. Maybe ICV is due for a clean (as it can clog up with oil from the breather).

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Just removed IAC and sprayed wd40 in it... Much easier in the older 9000's as its between the throttle manifold and the cam cover just two clips and its off... to say that a lot of [expletive deleted] came out of it was an understatement!!

2 weeks or so ago I had to replace the short piece of tubing from the IAC to the throttle manifold which before repair must have caused most of the rich mixture that caused the sooting on the sparks..