Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im fairly new to the Saab scene, and I've only been on these forums for about a week. I have a NG 900 and am not familiar with the 9000 cars. I think i saw someone talking about a 2.3 turbo in a 9000. Is this stock? If so, is it the same 2.3 that is in the naturally aspirated NG 900? I can see an engine swap for me in the future if all this is true. Or at least the head and bottom end out of the 2.3. Does anyone know of a person that has done this? Also, if I upgraded my trionic, would upgrading to a bigger turbo after be a mistake? Once again, all help is appreciated.

·
Registered
563 Posts
It's possible to fit a 2.3 turbo in a NG900, but it's only necessary if you're aiming at more than 300hp.

Buying an upgraded ECU is an easier way to get more power. Even with the stock T25 turbo, it's possible to get 260hp, like Eric B does.

A bigger turbo, like a TD04, T25/28 hybrid or T28 will give even more power. Drawback is the increased lag. Bigger turbo's will not spool up as fast as the T25.

This picture shows a 9000 engine in a NG900.

·
Registered
778 Posts
Interesting job with that ng900. That doesn't look like the 9000 intake manifold, and the exhaust/headers are another story - they don't look like the headers I've seen on the Speedparts site. If the brakes from a 9-5 Aero can be fit to this ng900, why wouldn't they work on my 9000? They may not be AP's but I bet the salvage yards would sell them at a reasonable price.

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Posted by Maarten:
A bigger turbo, like a TD04, T25/28 hybrid or T28 will give even more power. Drawback is the increased lag. Bigger turbo's will not spool up as fast as the T25.  [/b]