Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, this saturday just gone, me and my friend Fox had a busy day planned working on our 9000s! For mine, simple orders of the day were to clean the idle control valve, and fit poly rear ARB bushes. Fox was slightly more ambitious... 3" JT from the turbo back, new engine mount, replace front brake pads. Now I'm a complete amateur mechanic, Fox knows a bit more what he's doing but by no means either the pro like some of you guys here!

Started at 10am Saturday, I had to be done by 4pm... 6 hours!

Long story short, we only got the exhaust done and that was it! Oh and I half sorted out my idle problem. Via the gift of BillJ's 9000 site I had instructions for cleaning the AIC valve however I must say mine seems incredibly inaccessible! Getting the lower pipe off the thing proved nigh on impossible, since the clamp thingy is done up such that the screw is pointing right towards the back of the engine. Quite how you're supposed to get a screwdriver in there I have no idea, so in the end I plugged everything back in except the main large rubber tube heading into the throttle housing. Fired the car up and it idled OK, with it at idle then squirted carb cleaner sporadically into the pipe heading down from the main throttle to the AIC valve. A few hiccups from the engine and it seems to have sorted the problem, mostly. Still falters slightly more than it should (esp when engaging AC etc.) however it doesn't feel like the cars going to stall now.