Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
fitted a bleed valve over the weekend as the apc valve wos causing very eratic boost, WOW wot a differance, its like having a new car, set it to boost just into the red slashes on the boost gauge and the result is like riding a misile (i imagine). WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. try it only cost £15, but make sure u have clean underwear on!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
you the man quarryeff.
P.S im new to the saab, got my 9000cs 2.3 turbo 2 weeks ago and wot a car it is, wont be buying anything else but saab from now on!!!!. i wos converted after a dfive of my work mates 1990 carlson, he picked it up with 45000 miles on the clock with full saab history (git). keep up the good postings on this site its great just to flick through them and read your comments on this great mark

·
Registered
507 Posts
What was the name of the thread that had the detailed info obleed valves?
Is there a way to clean the wastegate without undoing nasty, orange ,seized, rusty bolts?
This is me following a different thread , sorry.

·
Registered
657 Posts
I would advise not to touch the wastegate arm unless you know it has been adjusted away from 'standard'.
Your car is normal if the turbo gauge rises into the 'red' briefly before falling back and holding near top of 'orange'. If it doesn't do this then you could adjust wastegate. All you are doing when you shorten or lengthen the wastegate arm is to advance or delay the point at which the gate opens to let out air. That is, it stops the turbo from grabbing too much air.
Afraid the only tip I know about rusty bolts is to invest in some spanners / sockets which are either
6-sided (more awkward to use, but don't take corners off nuts)
or, even better,