Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can you or can you not charge a battery that is connected in the standard manner i.e. must you always disconnect one of the terminals before connecting a battery charger ?

·
Registered
260 Posts
I would say that you'd be OK leaving the battery connected, provided you switch the charger off at the mains before connecting/disconnecting. There is a (very)slight chance of causing a voltage spike if the battery is connected, that's why manufacturers tell you to disconnect the battery. However, I've been a mechanic for nearly 25 years, and I've never seen any damage caused by this!
Pete.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Most "Trickle" chargers purchased for charging car/boat/caravan batteries have smoothing circuitry in-built so it really shouldn't matter what order you use to charge that battery.

I have knocked up a variac transformer which I can set between 0 & 100 volts & more importantly, 0 through 30 amps. On the odd occasion when I've had to chatge a flat battery, I have left it connected in the car & quick-charged at a rate of about 10 amps at 14 volts. Throwing this kind of charge into a battery means that the battery needs assistance in breathing else the pressure can & has blown off the screw-down tops over each of the six internal 2 volt cells. I can charge a totally flat battery like this & it's capable of turning over & starting the car in under 10 minutes. That's the kind of power that I'm putting into the battery.