Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Because of continuing electrical problems, if I don?t use my car for a week or so I have to charge the battery. I connect the charger to the battery terminals without disconnecting the battery from the car?s systems. This has never given any problem and I have been using the charger this way for several years now. I have an electronic charger which states very clearly that there is no need to keep checking whether the battery is charged or not because you cannot overcharge the battery thanks to the system?s cunning electronics.

Last time I put the battery on to charge, illness and rain combined to persuade me that there was no need for me to disconnect the charger.

Last night I wanted to use the car for the first time for about three weeks, and although the last time I looked, a few days ago, the green light had happily told me the battery was charged, now the car and battery are as dead as a dodo. Even the central locking doesn?t work. Even the LED on the front of the radio has gone out. Reconnecting the charger produces nothing at all.

Have I fried my battery, my charger, the car?s electronics, or a combination of these?

Cheers,
Harry Lake
'93 CSE2.3T auto

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
I think you should start from the begining,check the fuse in the battery charger,also make sure that you have mains voltage,then check the battery.Have you tried fitting another battery?
Mike

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·