Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to be a first time Saab owner. I'm currently looking at 2 1995 Saab Aeros (one with 92000 miles and one with 91000). I was just wondering if there was anything specific to look out for in these two models. As this will be my first Saab, I'm a newb... very excited though

Thanks

·
Registered
1,597 Posts
I bought a 1996 with 88k miles and was looking out for the following:

1) Manual Gearbox (personal choice)- (225bhp as opposed to 200)
2) Has the clutch been changed yet (nice if its just been done)
3) Does the gearbox crunch or complain when flooring between 2nd and 3rd / any whining
4) Is the service history spot on/can fluid changes be well proven - if its just had 90k service then all the better.
5) Does it have TCS / can you switch it off (if it does and you can't then be wary as it seems to cause a lot of potential issues)
6) Has it been thrashed/feel sloppy- its interesting to look at the mpg when you get in the car - if its way below 30 then they haven't been hanging around (very subjective of course especially if its been city driving)
7) Oil/coolant contamination due to gasket leaks

When I bought mine it needed new rear shocks, which is not normal at that mileage (so I am told - but it had spent most of its life on narrow country roads) - the handling was pretty poor until fixed. The turbo boost gauge should at least touch into the red or reach the end of the yellow section at full throttle. I didnt know this when I bought mine and the boost only went up to half way through the yellow due to a leaking hose (£5) - only the gauge was affected, not the main boost.
Once you get the car, make sure you run 97/98 ron fuel (optimax preferably) and go for an adaptation run (see other posts). If the owner is not an enthusiast and runs 95Ron its unlikely to have been done for ages. The difference