Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all - newbie here. Got an annoying problem I'd appreciate some advice on:

1) Have an intermittent knock - the worst sort because it comes & goes and of course, is never there when the shop is looking for it...

Symptoms: knock occurs (intermittently) at any/all throttle applications (i.e., sometimes idle, sometimes accelerating, sometimes cruising, sometimes closed throttle) Weird thing is - no perceptible problems with APC/Turbo - performance is just as when new, no better, no worse - but accompanied with this stomach-turning knock.

Other:
-always use premium fuel, infact, when I found some 94 octane, the knocking got worse!
-replaced knock sensor
-replaced APC solenoid
-new (correct) plugs
-very recent tune-up (timing, etc. by Saab dealer)
-correct oil
-no noise from timing chain or any other unusual noises
-no disconnected vacuum lines/wires/etc...

Has anyone experienced this? Can anyone offer any advice? The intermittent nature of this - and the fact that performance is not affected is driving me nuts! Thanks in advance for advice!!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
RE:
Is the knock frequency related to engine speed or road speed?

**independent of both

Is it on straight roads or bends (if so, left or right)?

**independent of both

Is it a regular knock or an irregular rattle?

**'regular' engine knock (if it can be called regular?!?)

·
Registered
1,436 Posts
Could it be a worn multi-drive belt / mdb tensioner?

When my tensioner wasn't performing properly it caused wear in the belt, a frayed bit of the belt caused a knock / slap sound, but because the tensioer was working with varying degress of effectiveness it was only heard intermittently.

·
Registered
243 Posts