Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone

I am new to this so please bear with me.

9000 2.0t CSE Manufactured late 1993 but has DI and B204S series engine. I am guessing it is the same as the MY94 model for all intents and purposes.

After five happy years (apart from clutch replacement which had me living on baked beans for a good while
) with the car in standard spec time for an upgrade.

I have sourced a second-hand 9K intercooler and pipework, read up all the bulletin boards, sites etc I could (and saabscene is definately the best
). Still I have a few questions.

Should I bother connecting the Intercooler before I get an ECU upgrade?

Is there anything I need to do apart from fit the Intercooler + pipes if not upgrading ECU immediately. E.g I have the impression that different spark plugs may be needed as output increases but when?

Will Intercooler upgrade on its own create much difference in power output.

Is it desireable to fit a boost gauge and fuel pressure indicator at this stage.

My intention is to gradually improve the performance of the car but keeping it practical for daily use. This includes unmetalled tracks etc with a full load so are there options to improve handling without significantly reducing ride height?

phew!

Your comments/ideas?

·
Registered
14,305 Posts
Fitting an intercooler will be a worthwhile exercise, and will yield a slight increase in power/torque as it will cool the intake air, thus meaning it is denser and thus more fuel/air will be in the cylinders which means more power for any given intake charge presure.