Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Yes I am the newbie here. But I have been a SAAB owner and fan for quite some time.

Heres the problem... I have a 1996 9000 CS. Its in great physical shape, but I am starting to have alot of electrical issues. for instance, I was driving along one night when my highbeams shut off and would not turn back on. A bit latter they were on. This continued for a month or so, till all of a suden I had no headlights at all. Now all I have are the day time lights. Also, my hazzard lights are intermitant as well.

I purchased the care and all of this was working a year ago. the only thing not working was my AC, but not only is it not blowing cold it blows HOT ALL THE TIME!!!! AHHHH

If any of you know where I can start to fix these issues I would GREATLY appreciate it.

Chris

·
Registered
179 Posts
A couple of possibilities come to mind a) poor ground connection giving rise to multiple symptoms B) seperate faults with the lights and heater.

I think B) might be more likely as they sound like problems that crop up here from time to time.

The lights fault sounds like the A+B relay - the big double relay in the relay box under the hood. If you have a friendly dealer, ask them to let you try fitting a new one. Sometimes light problems are due to the stalk switch but, if you check the other threads in here, I think you will find your symptoms are more typical of the relay problem.

Lots of threads in here on heaters and I think your fault sounds like the cabin temperature sensor, but I am less positive about this.

HTH.

Chris

·
Super Moderator
2,711 Posts
FilmFreak,