Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
776 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

About 2 years ago I had the standard ECU remap by Abbotts, the alleged +40 BHP Jobbie.

Since then I have had new clutch, new head, stripped and rebuilt manual gearbox, services etc etc...

You get the picture, lots of plugging and unplugging, and lot of miles.

Do I need a "top up" so to speak on the remapping (or whatever) to ensure optimum performance.

Abbotts said they would check anything out and adjust for Free but it is a lot of petrol and mileage just for that (round triop from Dover).

In fact, does anything need doing? can I do anything? ( complete novice, just about change a wheel !!!)

Advice pleeeeease !!!

9000 CSE 2.3T. FPT. 1994
Lowered and Polybushed, abbott dump valve, bleed valve, bigger back box, de-catted. Abbott ECU remapped blah blah...
(only mentioning all this in case it matters as to what - if anything - needs to be done).

Thankyou,
Andy.

·
Registered
1,597 Posts
Once the ECU is mapped, it's there for good unless it dies!
What you can do is reset it so that it unlearns any bad traits (such as limiting boost due to poor fuel etc).
Do a search on Adaptation run and you'll get the picture - pretty much, unplug battery for 20mins, then floor it from about 2500 to 4500rpm in 4th.
That's the only thing I can think of...

·
Registered
8,216 Posts
As long as you haven't made major modifications (is the head still standard, for example?) then it should be fine. Some tuners, like Maptun, offer remapping for a nominal fee if you've changed the hardware. For example, I'm intending to fit bigger injectors to my Aero and will be asking them to remap my ECU to suit.

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
originally posted by BillJ:
 For example, I'm intending to fit bigger injectors to my Aero and will be asking them to remap my ECU to suit.  [/b]
Care to expand on that ? injector numbers etc?

·
Registered
1,299 Posts