Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. No doubt you've heard this a dozen times before but when opening the roof, it only goes halfway and the "softtop cover not opening" message appears.
The tonneau cover wants to open, it move a few millimetres, but it seems a catch is not releasing it and I run the risk of burning out the motor.
I've seen a few posts about microswitches and number 5 bow (I've no idea what that is...) being at fault but I don't know where to start, I'm no mechanic.
A few diagrams would be a great help too.

Thanks in anticipation :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
This answer may be to late for You to use. I just found out the same problem and now works every time. I also had to help up the Tonneau Cover and sometimes when the broken/sheared pin caught just right it did work. The pin sheared at the shaft and the U-Joint Coupling and Round Shaft workings of the Tonneau Cover hydraulic cylinder.

To find and see the mechanics of the Tonneau workings is in the truck. Removing the hanging pouch, just below the forward trunk seal. Theres 3)black push pins. Removing them by getting under the heads. Then 2)hex head sheet metal screws. Cover then falls into the trunk. (This is where you will see the square shaft that pivots the Tonneau Cover). It has big strong spring on each end. Looks like the spring tensioner of a garage door.