Saabscene Saab Forum - Saab Technical Information Resource banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Please excuse me if these questions have been asked before, but I'm new to this good forum!

My '93 9000 turbo has developed a strange boost problem. Accelerating hard in 2nd/3rd you can hear the boost being bled off every second or so - ptsch - ptsch - ptsch - ptsch - ptsch.. etc! Does anyone have any idea what's going on?

Some background, the car developed a problem with it's wastegate actuator and the main dealer ended up replacing a load of vacuum hoses and fitting a bleed valve from Abbott. Also the car sat idle with a flat battery for a few weeks just prior to the problem developing - I've just fitted a new battery and driven it to find this problem.

On a separate note, there is a loud tapping noise coming from the cam followers which has been getting worse recently. Is it possible to get new cam followers & cams (preferrably standard) as I understand I can't just fit new followers to the old camshaft. And if so does anyone know where from or a rough price for them? Or can the followers be refreshed in any way?

Sorry for all the questions!

Cheers,
Tim.

·
Registered
2,277 Posts
Hi Tim,

Welcome to Saabscene .

I've got a '93 model and during fairly hard acceleration (say 2/3 throttle) you can sometimes hear the boost being bled off continuously as the car goes through the mid-range, perhaps this is the same type of event you are describing?
Are you unhappy with the cars performance since this noise started or is it just a noise that worries you?

Nick.

·
Registered
662 Posts