Hot air air con

1. Welcome to Saabscene – General discussion forum for Saab

Welcome to Saabscene - a website dedicated to all things Saab.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Saabscene today!

Thread: Hot air air con

Hot air air con

Hello All,

I'm an old Saab driver (old driver, relatively new 9-5 2.3), but new to Saabscene, and I would be grateful for some advice.

The aircon is blowing hot air out of the rear vents. I've tried reconfiguring the system, and it shows a fault code '8', which looking at some excellent info on this site means 'loose flap'.

Any ideas where the flap is, how to access it is it diy-able? Hope that's not too many questions for my first post!

2. Remove Advertisements
    SaabScene.com
    Advertisements

Re: Hot air air con

Welcome to Saabscene

Does this help click here!

Or this earlier thread click here!

Hi there,

Two things - the earlier cars (ie Y2K and earlier) are known to have a problem whereby if you close the front passenger air vents the AC will blow hot into the rear (as it does on mine). The answer is to get the dealer to drill a certain hole somewhere in the system (they'll know where), or just keep the front pass vents open.

The 08 code thing is separate I believe - and refers to a broken shaft in the heater that controls the distribution of hot/ cold air. I don't want to alarm you unduly, but it's apparently a very cheap part that requires lots of time and labour (read £££s) to install. The others will be able to fill you in I'm sure.

Chris,