The dreaded EGR issues
NEWS

1. Welcome to Saabscene General discussion forum for Saab

Welcome to Saabscene - a website dedicated to all things Saab.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Saabscene today!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: The dreaded EGR issues

Hi,

I am a newbie so apologies for anything and everything on this post that may sound amateuristic or already discussed.... But HELLLPP.

I bought a Saab 9-3 2.2TiD (03 plate) and getting Engine Managment Light only on Motorway journeys. Normal roads perfectly fine (although I notice some smoke from exhaust when I accelerate hard).

My questions are

1. I have been told the EGR valve costs 182 from Dealers - is that fair?
    2. Should I get this fitted from Manufacturers or any recommended dealers (I am guessing i might get the added perks of warranty on work carried-out)
    3. Is the EGR valve known to cause extra emmissions from the exhaust when accellerated hard?
    4. Does anyone recommend any decent Saab Independant Mechanics in the West Yorkshire region?
    5. Does EGR fault affect MPGs (as I am getting 28mpg on local roads)
    6. Heard the same fault code displays if there is a split in Intercooler pipe - how do I make sure I am not getting a part replaced that doesn't need replacing?
    7. Why doesn't my AA Warranty cover EGR faults AND would the Warranty cover faults with my Intercooler pipe? (3 Star AA cover)

Sorry for the great list BUT who else can I trust other than the real Saab experts that are not out to make a quick-buck out of me.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    SaabScene.com